Bluebird Rising

"You own everything that happened to you. Tell your stories. If people wanted you to write warmly about them, they should have behaved better." -Anne Lamott

On Boston: A Quick Recap (Resources & Links) April 17, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — bluebirdrising @ 2:27 pm

First, thank you to the hundreds of you that read yesterdays post amid the psychotically overstimulating news environment that occurs during a tragedy.

Thank you to those who told me that they related, because you yourself know how much darker the dark feelings feel when you think you are feeling them alone. Thank you for reminding all of us that this is never the case. In my opinion, you helped others in the most important aspect of healing.

Thank you to those who told me I was wrong, because you are from who I can learn. This world, this blog, are not about us being in agreement. That would make me very bored, and a bored Amy drives everyone crazy. (Trust me on this. That’s how I lost my eyebrows.) And although I pride myself on being able to read people and their emotions very well-hell, I even bet my physical safety on it every day I walk into work-that doesn’t mean I know it all. Or a fraction of it all. Or anything at all, really. I do hope that next time, or at some point in your own time, those of you who disagree with me feel comfortable enough to comment publicly. Until then, I heard you. I really, really did.

And thank you to the people who asked for more information, not necessarily about current events, but about my train of thought in writing this piece. This is what I can offer for you.

#1) If you would like another opinion on how the Boston Marathon affected another writer, my friend Stacy shared this link of her friend who also took the time to organize their thoughts:

http://theartificialswedeners.blogspot.com/2013/04/boston-marathon-2013.html

#2) Remember when we talked about liking to read what other people write when it is more eloquent than ourselves? Well, I came across this article randomly yesterday and it seemed all too perfect. It’s a fascinating interview with a law professor about why the concept of an “eye for an eye” should be commonplace, and the legal and moral implications that encompass that.

http://www.smithsonianmag.com/ideas-innovations/Where-An-Eye-for-An-Eye-Should-be-the-Letter-of-the-Law–201946911.html#.UWui02O7HAU.email

#3) And finally, on happiness. I have read half of the book The Antidote: Happiness for People Who Can’t Stand Positive
Thinking by Burkeman. I say half because then I lost track of a week of my life and had to return it to the library. But, I am looking forward to checking it out again and finishing it, because I simply ADORED it. Seriously, read the book description. If you identified with yesterday’s post, in any way, this book will have something for you. Maybe we could even start our own little disenchanted book club.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Antidote-Happiness-Positive-Thinking/dp/0865479410

And with that, take care. Of yourself. Of each other.

Eat a cupcake. Go for a walk. Watch a favorite movie.

Cry. Laugh.

Feel everything you need to feel.

 

Leave a Reply

